mustard and miscellany

A story of love and hate

Recipe: Chicken with Mushrooms and Onions in Mustard Sauce August 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Mustard and Miscellany @ 6:07 am
Tags: , , ,

New recipe today! Simple, healthy, and delicious! Adapted from this recipe that I found on TuroK Like Food. We ended up making it on the stovetop in a skillet, though, instead of roasting it in the oven. It’s too hot to turn on the oven these days.

There’s sort of a review buried in here, too, as I used a new mustard for this…Zatarain’s Creole Mustard.

This is a nice, classic brown grainy mustard. I didn’t notice anything different about it that would make it creole as opposed to regular grainy mustards. Maybe grainy mustard is a common ingredient in creole cooking? As I’m writing this, I realize I know nothing about creole cooking. So, if you’re reading and you do know something about this subject, leave me a comment! Regardless, a good mustard that I would definitely buy again.

On to today’s chicken dish. We pretty much doubled the original recipe and even then I might make more sauce next time. It was really good, though. This dish could be really different depending on the type of mustard you use for the sauce, too. A spicy one would be interesting.

Looks good, right? It was. We served it with some brown rice. Whole dinner probably took less than 45 minutes. I think kids would like this. Everything is gluten-free, including the mustard (check any mustard you use, of course).

Printable Recipe

Chicken with Mushrooms and Onions in Mustard Sauce (Feeds 4-5)

Ingredients:

  • 2-2.5 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 large white or yellow onion, sliced thinly
  • 16 oz. any kind of mushrooms, sliced (I used button mushrooms)
  • 1-2 Tbsp. butter
  • .5 cup mustard (I used Zatarain’s Creole)
  • 4 Tbsp. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • Green onions, chopped (I used about 6)

Directions:

  • In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Add chicken and brown on all sides.
  • Remove chicken from skillet and set aside. Add mushrooms and onions to skillet and cook over medium-high heat until onions are translucent, about 10 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, mix mustard, vinegar, and olive oil in a small bowl.
  • Add chicken back into skillet with mustard sauce and stir to combine with mushroom/onion mixture. Cook over medium heat until chicken is cooked through, about 10 minutes. Add green onions in last minute.
  • Serve alone, over rice, quinoa, noodles…whatever you like!

With some beets for color and yumminess

So, there’s dinner for ya! Try it and let me know what you think.

Cheers,

Stephanie

 

Leave a comment